The SOM ODI Department Liaisons group is comprised of faculty members representing each department in the School of Medicine. Liaisons are nominated for the position and are an important link between the Office for Diversity & Inclusion and the departments.

Each of our members has an interest in enhancing the diversity of the SOM and building a more inclusive environment for all. They advise our office and provide feedback and input on ODI priorities, initiatives, activities, and issues. Also, liaisons help us understand the various cultures within our departments, their needs, and how they may best be supported.

Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

Amandiy Liwo, M.D., MSPH
amandiyliwo@uabmc.edu

Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Natalia Kedishvili, Ph.D.
nkedishvili@uab.edu

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Lisa Schwiebert, Ph.D.
lschwieb@uab.edu

Dermatology

Dermatology

Nabiha Yusuf, Ph.D.
nabiha@uab.edu

Emergency Medicine

Emergency Medicine

Lauren Walter, M.D.
lawalter@uab.edu

Family Medicine

Family Medicine

Sumayah Abed, M.D.
sabed@uabmc.edu

Genetics

Genetics

Runhua (Runa) Liu, Ph.D.
runhua@uab.edu

Medical Education

Medical Education

Christina J. Grabowski, Ph.D.
cjgrabow@uab.edu

Medicine (1/3)

Medicine (1/3)

Andy Duxbury, M.D.
aduxbury@uab.edu 

Medicine (2/3)

Medicine (2/3)

Monica Baskin, Ph.D.
mbaskin@uab.edu

Medicine (3/3)

Medicine (3/3)

Denyse Thornley-Brown, M.D.
dtb@uab.edu

Microbiology

Microbiology

Amy Weinmann, Ph.D.
weinmann@uab.edu

Neurobiology

Neurobiology

Farah Lubin, Ph.D.
flubin@uab.edu

Neurology

Neurology

John Rinker II, M.D.
rinkerj@uab.edu

Neurosurgery (1/2)

Neurosurgery (1/2)

Jianmei Leavenworth, M.D., Ph.D.
jwleaven@uab.edu

Neurosurgery (2/2)

Neurosurgery (2/2)

Nicole Bentley, M.D.
nbentl@uab.edu

Ophthalmology

Ophthalmology

Marcela Frazier, O.D., MSPH
mfrazier@uab.edu

Pathology

Pathology

Silvio Litovsky, M.D.
slitovsk@uab.edu

Pediatrics

Pediatrics

Tina Simpson, M.D., MPH
TinaSimpson@uab.edu

Pharmacology/Toxicology

Pharmacology/Toxicology

Mahmoud el Kouni, M.A., M.Sc., Ph.D.
melkouni@uab.edu

Physical Medicine and Rehab (PM&R)

Physical Medicine and Rehab (PM&R)

Danielle Powell, M.D.
dkpowell@uab.edu

Psychiatry

Psychiatry

Li Li, M.D., Ph.D.
lili978@uab.edu

Radiology (1/2)

Radiology (1/2)

Kristin Porter, M.D., Ph.D.
sear@uab.edu

Radiology (2/2)

Radiology (2/2)

Jessica Zarzour, M.D.
jzarzour@uab.edu

Surgery

Surgery

Carlton Young, M.D.
cjyoung@uab.edu