The SOM ODI Department Liaisons group is comprised of faculty members representing each department in the School of Medicine. Liaisons are nominated for the position and are an important link between the Office for Diversity & Inclusion and the departments.

Each of our members has an interest in enhancing the diversity of the SOM and building a more inclusive environment for all. They advise our office and provide feedback and input on ODI priorities, initiatives, activities, and issues. Also, liaisons help us understand the various cultures within our departments, their needs, and how they may best be supported.

Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics

Dr. Natalia Kedishvili
nkedishvili@uab.edu

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Dr. Lisa Schwiebert
lschwieb@uab.edu

Dermatology

Dermatology

Dr. Nabiha Yusuf
nabiha@uab.edu

Emergency Medicine

Emergency Medicine

Dr. Lauren Walter
lawalter@uab.edu

Family Medicine

Family Medicine

Dr. Blessing Falola
bfalola@uab.edu

Genetics

Genetics

Dr. Runhua (Runa) Liu
runhua@uab.edu

Medical Education

Medical Education

Christina J. Grabowski, PhD
cjgrabow@uab.edu

Medicine (1/3)

Medicine (1/3)

Dr. Andy Duxbury
aduxbury@uab.edu 

Medicine (2/3)

Medicine (2/3)

Dr. Monica Baskin
mbaskin@uab.edu

Medicine (3/3)

Medicine (3/3)

Dr. Denyse Thornley-Brown
dtb@uab.edu

Microbiology

Microbiology

Dr. Amy Weinmann
weinmann@uab.edu

Neurobiology

Neurobiology

Dr. Farah Lubin
flubin@uab.edu

Neurology

Neurology

Dr. John Rinker II
rinkerj@uab.edu

Neurosurgery (1/2)

Neurosurgery (1/2)

Dr. Jianmei Leavenworth
jwleaven@uab.edu

Neurosurgery (2/2)

Neurosurgery (2/2)

Dr. Nicole Bentley
nbentl@uab.edu

Ophthalmology

Ophthalmology

Dr. Marcela Frazier
mfrazier@uab.edu

Pathology

Pathology

Dr. Silvio Litovsky
slitovsk@uab.edu

Pediatrics

Pediatrics

Dr. Tina Simpson
TinaSimpson@uab.edu

Pharmacology/Toxicology

Pharmacology/Toxicology

Dr. Mahmoud el Kouni
melkouni@uab.edu

Physical Medicine and Rehab (PM&R)

Physical Medicine and Rehab (PM&R)

Dr. Danielle Powell
dkpowell@uab.edu

Psychiatry

Psychiatry

Radiology (1/2)

Radiology (1/2)

Dr. Kristin Porter
sear@uab.edu

Radiology (2/2)

Radiology (2/2)

Dr. Jessica Zarzour
jzarzour@uab.edu

Surgery

Surgery

Dr. Carlton Young
cjyoung@uab.edu