February 01, 2017

Dransfield elected to American Society for Clinical Investigation

Written by

mark dransfield 2009Mark T. Dransfield, M.D., professor in the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care MedicineMark T. Dransfield, M.D., professor in the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine in the Department of Medicine, part of the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine, has been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

The ASCI is an honor society of physician-scientists who translate findings in the laboratory to the advancement of clinical practice. Founded in 1908, the society is home to nearly 3,000 members who are in the upper ranks of academic medicine and industry.The society elected 64 members for 2017 who will be formally inducted at the ASCI’s annual meeting April 21 in Chicago.

Dransfield holds the William C. Bailey Endowed Chair in Pulmonary Disease and is the medical director of the UAB Lung Health Center. His clinical interests include chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and lung cancer. He is the principal investigator for multiple clinical trials at the Lung Health Center, including the NIH-sponsored COPD Clinical Research Network and COPDGene studies.

Founded in 1908, the American Society for Clinical Investigation is one of the oldest and most esteemed nonprofit honor societies of physician-scientists. Membership is by election only, and only researchers who are 50 years of age or younger are eligible for nomination to the Society. Therefore, membership in the ASCI is a recognition of a researcher’s significant contributions, at a relatively young age, to the understanding of human disease.

Dransfield completed his medical degree at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1997, followed by residency in internal medicine and fellowship training in pulmonary and critical care medicine at UAB, where he served as chief fellow. He has been on the faculty at UAB since 2003. He was named as a “Top 10 Teacher” in the Department of Medicine in 2006-2008, and in 2009, he was a recipient of the Cobbs-Rutsky Award for Clinical Excellence in Teaching. He has been listed in America’s Top Doctors since 2010.