Explore UAB


Suzanne Lapi, Ph.D., has been selected as the winner of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI) Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council’s 2024 Michael J. Welch Award. 

Lapi, vice chair of research, director of the Cyclotron Facility, division director for advanced medical imaging research, co-leader of the O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center's Experimental Therapeutics program and professor of Radiology, will be presented with the award and present an overview of her work in the field at the Michael J. Welch Award session during the 2024 SNMMI Annual Meeting in June in Toronto, Canada.

The Michael J. Welch Award is intended to honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of radiopharmaceutical sciences, has been involved in mentoring students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty, and community service to the field of radiopharmaceutical chemistry and molecular imaging. The criteria used for this award selection is independent of any lecture given during the Michael J. Welch Award session. The lecture is being provided as a direct result of the award. 

“I am incredibly honored and grateful for the support of this amazing community” said Lapi. 

Congratulations to her on this very prestigious award!