Zoom presentingSix faculty members and three residents were recently elected to various Association of Academic Surgery (AAS) committees. Phase one committees include: Academic Advancement, Finance, Clinical and Health Services Research, Education, and Basic and Translational Science.

The list of UAB Department of Surgery faculty or trainee representatives is below:

Committee on Academic Advancement: 

Robert Hollis, M.D.
Candidate: Connie Shao, M.D.

Clinical and Health Services Research Committee:

Kristy Broman, M.D.Danielle Sutzko, M.D.

Education Committee:

Jessica Fazendin
Candidate: Peter Abraham, M.D.

Basic and Translational Science Committee:

Karin Hardiman, M.D., Ph.D.Ashley Holder, M.D.
Candidate: Mary Smithson, M.D.

Fay Fletcher Kerner Endowed Chair Herbert Chen, M.D., FACS, is pleased with the faculty and trainees’ dedication to promoting academic surgery on a national level.

“The Department of Surgery is always looking for ways to engage with other surgeons across the globe, and the AAS is a wonderful organization for that,” said Chen. “To have this many faculty and trainees representing our department on a national level is incredible, and I want to encourage more faculty and trainees to self-nominate during phase two.”

The AAS is currently accepting self-nominations for phase two committees, which include: Ethics, Global Affairs, Committee on Technology and Communications, Leadership and Membership Committees.

Self-nominations must be submitted online by 11:59 PM CDT on Dec. 7. You are welcome to nominate yourself for up to two committees, but you may only serve on one committee. If you are interested in serving, please visit this site for more information, including descriptions of committee activities and full details about the self-nomination process.