AAS Phase Two Docs 01From left to right: Dudeja, Parker and VardasThree faculty members were recently elected to various Association for Academic Surgery (AAS) committees. Phase two committees include: Ethics, Global Affairs, Technology & Communication, Leadership, and Membership.

The list of UAB Department of Surgery faculty representatives is below:


The Ethics Committee
Catherine Parker, M.D.

The Global Affairs Committee
Vikas Dudeja, M.B.B.S.

The Membership Committee
Panayotis Vardas, M.D.

Fay Fletcher Kerner Endowed Chair Herbert Chen, M.D., FACS, is pleased that the faculty will represent UAB Surgery on a national level.

“Every faculty member who was nominated to be a member of an AAS phase two committee was elected,” said Chen. “I think the message is that the UAB Department of Surgery is well-respected across the nation and within academic surgery. I look forward to all that Drs. Parker, Dudeja and Vardas will accomplish during their terms.”

The AAS was founded in 1966 and has grown significantly over the years being widely recognized as an inclusive surgical organization with over 4,000 members. Learn more about AAS committees here.