Explore UAB

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

Dr. Patrick JacksonThe UAB Department of Surgery was honored to host Patrick Jackson, M.D., and U.S. Supreme Court Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson, as the featured guests for this year’s annual George Yang, M.D., Endowed Lectureship in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion.

Dr. Jackson led the grand rounds presentation by sharing heartfelt stories about the ever-present intersection of DEI with our lives – both professionally and personally. He spoke about his journey through surgical residency, experiences he’s had firsthand as a spouse to a Supreme Court Justice, and inspired all attendees to approach life with empathetic advocacy.

Together, in a question-and-answer session following the presentation, Dr. Jackson and Justice Jackson discussed balancing life and work with two fast-paced careers, reminisced on their favorite memories after her Supreme Court appointment, and gave sage advice to aspiring surgeons and healthcare leaders on the importance of cultivating mentorships early in their careers.

“It is truly a remarkable occasion to welcome these phenomenal guests to speak with our trainees, faculty, and staff as we share the pillars of DEI education with the next generation of surgical leaders,” says Fay Fletcher Kerner Endowed Chair of Surgery Herbert Chen, M.D. “Dr. Yang was a trailblazer of equity and inclusion, and it’s an honor to continue the work he started.”

About the George Yang, M.D., Endowed Lectureship in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

George Yang, M.D., was a professor in the UAB Division of Gastrointestinal Surgery from 2018 until his passing in 2022. Throughout his career, Yang’s contributions to diversity, equity, and inclusion were astounding, paving the way for those to come. Dr. Yang advocated for the creation of spaces where everyone felt safe. His humility, care, and thoughtfulness were evident in all he did.

Previous speakers for the lectureship include: Former Senator Doug Jones – AL, Carla Pugh, M.D., Ph.D., and Michael Longaker, M.D., MBA.