UAB Office of Postdoctoral Education
campus shot


1825 University Blvd.
Shelby Building Room 171
Birmingham, AL 35294-2282
postdocs@uab.edu

Lisa M. Schwiebert, Ph.D. 
          Senior Associate Dean for Graduate and Postdoctoral Affairs
          205.934.3970

Jami K. Armbrester, M.S.
          Director of Career Development 
          205.934.6809

Susan E. Eades
          Program Administrator
          205.975.7021

Benita James
           Office Associate
           205.975.7020



Current IRACDA-MERIT Scholars and Scholars At-Large

Name

Email

Phone

Department

Robert Akscyn, PhD

rakscyn@uab.edu

(205) 934-5171

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Sarah Beno, PhD

sbeno@uab.edu

(205) 975-2537

Microbiology

Pamlea Brady, PhD

pnbrady@uab.edu

(205) 975-0289

Chemistry

Camerron Crowder, PhD

camerron@uab.edu 

(205) 934-4565

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Centdrika Dates, PhD

cdatesh8@uab.edu

(205) 934-2706

Radiation Oncology

Vicky Huang, PhD

victoriahuang@uab.edu

(205) 996-2242

Neurobiology

Keri Kemp, PhD

kerikemp@uab.edu

(205) 934-8313

Biology

Monica Lewis, PhD

Mlewis1@uab.edu

(205) 934-7432

Dermatology

Christine Loyd, PhD

loydcm@uab.edu

(205) 934-9261

Medicine

Heather Ray, PhD

hjray@uab.edu

(205) 975-7229

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

IRACDA-MERIT Research Mentors

Name

Email

Phone

Department

Anupam Agarwal, MD

Agarwal@uab.edu

(205) 996-6670

Medicine

N. Ambalavanam, MD

ambal@uab.edu

(205) 996-5419

Peds - Neonatology

Shannon Bailey, PhD

sbailey@uab.edu

(205) 934-7070

Pathology

Scott Ballinger, PhD

sballing@uab.edu

(205) 934-4621

Pathology

Scott Barnum, PhD

sbarnum@uab.edu

(205) 934-4972

Microbiology

Dave Bedwell, PhD

dbedwell@uab.edu

(205) 934-6593

Biochemistry

Mary-Ann Bjornsti, PhD

Bjornsti@uab.edu

(205) 934-4579

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Markus Bredel, MD, PhD

mbredel@uab.edu

(205) 934-2756

Radiation Oncology

David Briles, PhD

dbriles@uab.edu

(205) 934-4579

Microbiology

Cynthia J. Brown, MD

cbrownmd@uab.edu

(205) 934-9261

Medicine

Dan Bullard, PhD

dcbullard@uab.edu

(205) 934-7768

Genetics

Chenbei Chang, PhD

cchang@uab.edu

(205) 975-7229

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

John Chatham, PhD

jchatham@uab.edu

(205) 934-0240

Medicine

Jim Collawn, PhD

jcollawn@uab.edu   

(205) 934-1002

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Christine Curcio, PhD

curcio@uab.edu

(205) 996-8682

Ophthalmology

Tim Garvey, PhD

garveyt@uab.edu

(205) 934-6103

Nutrition Science

James George, PhD

jgeorge@uab.edu

(205) 934-4261

Medicine

Dan Gorelick, PhD

danielg@uab.edu

(205) 934-4565

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Margaret Johnson, PhD

maggiejohnson@uab.edu

(205) 934-8137

Chemistry

Eugenia Kharlampieva, PhD

ekharlam@uab.edu

(205) 934-0974

Chemistry

Robin Lorenz, PhD

rlorenz@uab.edu

(205) 934-0676

Pathology

Farah Lubin, PhD

flubin@uab.edu

(205) 996-6084

Neurobiology

Lori McMahon, PhD

mcmahon@uab.edu

(205) 934-3523

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Shahid Mukhtar, PhD

smukhtar@uab.edu

(205) 934-8335

Biology

Tim Nagy, PhD

tangy@uab.edu

(205) 934-4088

Nutrition Sciences

Michael Niederweis, PhD

mnieder@uab.edu

(205) 996-2711

Microbiology

Susan Nozell, PhD

snozell@uab.edu

(205) 934-2706

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Carlos Orihuela, PhD

corihuel@uab.edu

(205) 975-2536

Microbiology

Chandar Raman, PhD

craman@uab.edu

(205) 934-2472

Medicine

Sasanka Ramanadham, PhD

sramvem@uab.edu

(205) 996-5973

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

David Schneider, PhD

dschneid@uab.edu

(205) 934-4781

Biochemistry

Rosa Serra, PhD

rserra@uab.edu

(205) 934-0842

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

John Shacka, PhD

shacka@uab.edu

(205) 996-7252

Pathology

Brian Sims, MD, PhD

bsimsmd@uab.edu

(205) 975-5023

Pediatrics

Trygve Tollefsbol, PhD

trygve@uab.edu

(205) 934-4573

Biology

Hubert Tse, PhD

htse@uab.edu

(205) 934-7037

Microbiology

Linda Wadiche, PhD

lwadiche@uab.edu

(205) 996-6414

Neurobiology

Qin Wang, PhD

qinwang@uab.edu

(205) 996-5099

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Stephen Watts, PhD

sawatts@uab.edu

(205) 934-2045

Biology

Scott Wilson, PhD

Livvy01@uab.edu

(205) 975-5573

Neurobiology

Mike Wyss, PhD

jmwyss@uab.edu

(205) 934-6086

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Qinglin Yang, PhD

gyang@uab.edu

(205) 996-6022

Nutrition Sciences

Brad Yoder, PhD

byoder@uab.edu

(205) 934-0994

Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology

Martin Young, PhD

martinyoung@uabmc.edu

(205) 934-2328

Medicine

Nabiha Yusuf, PhD

nabiha@uab.edu

(205) 934-7432

Dermatology

 MERIT Teaching Mentors

Name

Email

Phone

School

Kevin Anderson, PhD

keanderson@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-7166

Oakwood University

Mary Jane Krotzer, PhD

mkrotzer@stillman.edu

(205) 366-8929

Stillman College

Ken Laihing, PhD

laihing@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-8463

Oakwood University

Onesimos Otieno, PhD

ootieno@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-7057

Oakwood University

Rufus Ranatanga, PhD

donranatunga@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-7116

Oakwood University

Marlon Rhem, PhD

mrhem@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-8437

Oakwood University

Melissa Richardson, PhD

mrichardson@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-7475

Oakwood University

Diane Tucker, PhD

dtucker@uab.edu

(205) 934-8885 

UAB

Elaine Vanterpool, PhD

evanterpool@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-7465

Oakwood University

Tracey Wilson, PhD

twilson@lawsonstate.edu

(205) 929-3461

Lawson State

Important Contacts

Name

Email

Phone

MERIT Role

Kellie Carter, PhD

kcarter@uab.edu

(205) 996-2220

Co-Director for Teaching Instruction

Mary Jane Krotzer, PhD

mkrotzer@stillman.edu

(205) 366-8929

Co-Director at Stillman College

Kenneth Laihing, PhD

laihing@oakwood.edu

(256) 726-8463

Co-Director at Oakwood University

Farah Lubin, PhD

flubin@uab.edu

(205) 996-6084

Co-Director for Research Training

Lisa Schwiebert, PhD

lschwieb@uab.edu

(205) 934-3970

Program Director

Scott Snyder, PhD

ssnyder@uab.edu

(205) 934-8475

Program Evaluator

Tracey Wilson, PhD

twilson@lawsonstate.edu

(205) 929-3461

Co-Director at Lawson State