People of UAB - News
Charles Seth Landefeld, M.D., was named to the Spencer Chair in Medical Science Leadership
Harry P. Erba, M.D., Ph.D., the inaugural holder of the Albert F. LoBuglio Endowed Chair for Translational Cancer Research
Assimos is the inaugural holder of the Anton J. Bueschen, M.D., Endowed Chair in Urologic Surgery and Research

Despina Stavrinos also directs UAB's Translational Research for Injury Prevention Lab.

Physical therapy chair wins state award for professionalism.

Health Administration chair wins an excellence in teaching award from a national association.

New associate dean will help attract top-quality educators, clinicians and researchers.

Dentistry associate dean chosen to lead international dentistry group.

Childs will serve a two-year term with the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care.

Thomas DiLorenzo, Ph.D., will transition from his post as dean of the UAB College of Arts and Sciences to a new role at UAB

McClintock’s book is based on his adventures and discoveries during 20 trips made while researching the White Continent.

Smith's research in calorie restriction and glucose regulation will be supported.

Whitley is the first recipient of a new award from the NIH.

Eric Jack, Ph.D., an associate dean in the school, tapped to lead as interim.

UAB President Carol Z. Garrison has announced that she will step down from office; she will continue serving until an interim president is named.

Girkin will serve on the editorial board of an international association's journal.

UAB faculty serve rare back-to-back terms as president of the American Society of Transplantation.
Nursing professor elected to the board of the Oncology Nursing Society.

A nationally known researcher on disability and rehabilitation will chair the Department of Occupational Therapy.

Works by Gary Chapman and John Douglas Powers were among 12 winners selected from 80 works in The Red Clay Survey.

Spanish professor given high honors in national society.

Neurology and pediatrics professor elected to national society.

Physical therapy faculty member elected chair of a national specialty board.

Three UAB professors are among 15 individuals honored with fellowship grants from the Alabama State Council on the Arts.

Cancer researcher lauded for his work in cancer therapeutics.

Accounting and finance chair will collaborate with a business school in Qatar.

School of Nursing professor will be part of an American Association of Colleges of Nursing committee.

School of Education professor attending a U.N. conference on sustainable development.

Vinik served as chief of anesthesia services for 16 years.
Page 48 of 56