Explore UAB

Alumni News Kevin Storr August 23, 2014

HOF StephensMichael E. Stephens with HofF plaqueTwo healthcare legends with strong ties to the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Health Professions were inducted to the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame at a ceremony on Saturday, August 25, 2014.

Harriett Holt Cloud, RD, LD, FADA, who has taught in the UAB School of Health Professions since 1976, and Michael E. Stephens, alumnus of the Master of Science in Healthcare Administration Program (Class 9), were joined by 11 others as members of the Hall of Fame’s Class of 2014.

“Harriet and Mike have directly impacted the Alabama healthcare industry for more than 90 years combined so I was surprised when I first learned they were not members of the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame,” said UAB School of Health Professions Dean Harold P. Jones, Ph.D. “But I also realize that these two have not served healthcare so passionately for so long to receive this recognition – they simply continue to serve others because it is the right thing no matter who notices.”

Cloud, whose health career began in 1946, is the lead author of more than 40 professional articles, book reviews and book entries on pediatric and nutrition needs of children. She also authored the self-study guide for the American Dietetic Association’s continuing education credit on Feeding for the Dietetics Professional.

HOF CloudHarriet Holt Cloud, RD, LD, FADA with her HofF plaqueFrom 1968 to 1991, Cloud was director of the UAB Division of Nutrition, Sparks Center for Development and Learning Disorders (known today as the UAB Civitan-Sparks Clinics). She has been with the UAB Newborn Follow Up Clinic since its inception in 1977. Cloud earned professor emeritus status in the UAB Department of Nutrition Sciences in 1992. And today, at the age of 90, she still consults at the UAB Civitan-Sparks Clinics two days per week.

"I am lucky. I have 8 children, 15 grandchildren and 6 or 7 great grandchildren - I've almost lost count," said Cloud. "In any career and in anything you do it takes a tremendous support system. Some of us are luckier than others to have a big support system."

Stephens is president of S Enterprises, Inc., and the driving force behind the Lakeshore Foundation. When he took over Lakeshore Hospital as administrator in the early ’70’s it was simply a 100-bed rehabilitation facility. Today, Lakeshore is an internationally renowned rehabilitation campus that serves more than 4,000 physically disabled people annually. And it was the first entity to become an official U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Training Site.

In 1984, Stephens founded ReLife, a rehabilitation company that specialized in treating people with brain and spinal cord injuries. Ten years later the company included 46 facilities in 12 states. Over the past 40 years, nobody has done more to help the world recognize the strengths and abilities of persons with physical disabilities.

HOF Stephens SmithStephens with Anita Smith"I am most fortunate to have chosen a career in healthcare in the area of rehabilitation at a time when it's paradigm was changing and i was able to have an influence on that change," said Stephens. "And because of that I ended up with a bunch of honors. But there is no greater honor than the one you're giving me today."

Also inducted in the ceremony was veteran healthcare journalist Anita Smith who most recently co-authored the book “Sports Rehabilitation and the Human Spirit” which delves into the full story behind the rise of Stephens and the Lakeshore Foundation. Smith’s book, which includes an Epilogue by Stephens, inspired the School of Health Professions 2013-14 “Rebuilding Bodies and Restoring Lives: Learning in Context” book discussion series.

Others inducted to the Hall of Fame included Rowel S. Ashford, Sr., M.D., Buris Raye Boshell, M.D., Ben V. Branscomb, M.D., James Monroe Mason, Jr., M.D., James Monroe Mason, III, M.D., John S. Meigs, Jr., M.D., Martin Perlman, M.D., Michael S. Saag, M.D. and George C. Smith, Sr., M.D. Since 2002, the Alabama Healthcare Hall of Fame has inducted a class of new members every two years. This was the 11th class inducted overall.

More News

  • Chapleau becomes first person from the SHP to win the UAB Outstanding Advisor Award for an Advising Administrator

    Read more
  • Lia Puzzo Earns DEP Outstanding Graduate Award

    Read more