Students from the School of Health ProfessionsClinical Laboratory Sciences (CLS) program beat out three other programs to win the 2018 UAB CLS Student Bowl.

The UAB squad, comprised of Sarah Bowhay, Catherine Morgan, Sajal Patel, Brittany Pendleton, and Kirstin Whitmire, defeated students from laboratory science programs at Auburn University at Montgomery (AUM), Baptist Health, and FORTIS.

The way the competition works is two teams compete head to head facing continuous rounds of questions for 30 minutes or until a team reaches 100 points. If neither team has 100 points after 30 minutes, the team with the most points is declared the winner.

After years of not competing, Brianna Miller, MS, MLS(ASCP)CM, assistant professor in the Department of Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences, brought the CLS Student Bowl back to UAB in 2014. This marks the first time the UAB Clinical Laboratory Sciences program has won the event since its return.