student nurses

The Student Excellence Awards honors UAB students and student organizations for their outstanding contributions to campus life in leadership and service. There are currently 256 registered student organizations on campus. This year, 112 nominations were submitted for the 15 award categories. A panel of six faculty and staff members judged the nominations.

This year the Outstanding Student Organization of the Year went to the Student Nurses' Association (SNA). Within the School of Nursing, the SNA has developed and facilitated an ongoing peer mentor program which fosters the transition of students into the nursing program, organized professional development activities such as student panels, planned social events for peer networking, and hosted events that foster academic involvement such as information sessions on NCLEX reviews. Throughout the university, the SNA has a strong presence in representing the School of Nursing by participating in events such as Homecoming and Hunger Week, having members serve as representatives on the USGA Senate and Lister Hill council, and hosting “Day in the Life a Nurse” events where students outside the school can learn about nursing.

Other award categories, their recipients and student organizations are as follows:

Individual Awards

  • Faculty/Staff of Character Award: Sharifa Wip
  • Order of Omega Faculty Member of the Year: Dr. Lois McFadyen Christensen
  • Student Organization Adviser of the Year: Maigen Sullivan
  • Greek Adviser of the Year: Sean Ryan, Phi Gamma Delta, and Laura Tull, Alpha Xi Delta
  • Rising Star Award: Michelle Nguyen
  • Inclusive Campus Commitment Award: Calvin Colvin
  • Unsung Hero Award: Allison Middleton
  • Student of Character Award: Aldenero Dixon
  • Sunshine Eve Hill Panhellenic Scholarship: Blaire Landry, Delta Gamma
  • Interfraternity Council Scholarship finalist: Alex Johnson, Tau Kappa Epsilon; Douglas Clint Harrison II, Lambda Chi Alpha; Caleb Brasher, Theta Chi; and Hunter Stewart, Pi Kappa Phi
  • Emerging Leader Scholarship: Michael Liptrot
  • Virginia D. Gauld National Alumni Society Endowed Scholarship: Natalie Hull
  • Dr. Scotty McCallum Alumnus of the Year: Veronica Juan, Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc.
  • Outstanding Greek New Members: Joey Richardson, Lambda Chi Alpha; Helen Bae, Alpha Xi Delta
  • Greek Man and Woman of the Year: Sahil Patel, Delta Epsilon Psi Fraternity, Inc. and Weslie Shannon, Alpha Gamma Delta
  • Outstanding Scholastic Achievement: Reda El Arafy
  • Community Impact Award: Kathryn Oliver
  • Outstanding Service Award: Charlotte Boles
  • Outstanding Student Leader: Garrett Stephens

Organizational Awards

Greek Chapters of Excellence Awards

Outstanding Community Service Project - Marine And Field Biology Club

Program of the Year

Outstanding Student Organization

The awards are sponsored by Student Involvement & Leadership within the Division of Student Affairs. For more information see