Faculty Senate officers serve one-year terms as provided in the bylaws. The chair succeeds the previous past-chair at the end of his or her term, and the chair-elect succeeds the chair. The secretary may serve a maximum of three successive one-year terms. Position descriptions 


Chair of Faculty Senate
Michael FroelichThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. , M.D.

Michael Froelich, M.D., is an associate professor in the Department of Anesthesiology. His clinical subspecialty and areas of interest are in obstetric anesthesia and pain medicine. Froelich earned his medical degree from the University of Vienna Austria in 1988. He served an internship in anesthesiology and intensive care medicine at the University of Munich in 1990 and followed that with an anesthesiology residency at Emory in 1995 and a fellowship in obstetric anesthesiology in 1996. He would add a master of science in clinical instigation in 2004 from the University of Florida. Froelich is a member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists, the European Academy of Anesthesiologists, the Florida Society of Anesthesiologists, the International Anesthesia Research Society, and the Society for Neuroscience. Froelich has been a member of the UAB faculty since 2006.

Chair-Elect of Faculty Senate
Chad Epps, M.D.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Chad Epps photoChad Epps, MD is an Associate Professor and Director of Simulation in the Schools of Health Professions, Medicine, and Nursing. Dr. Epps received his medical degree from the Medical College of Georgia. He completed an internship in Internal Medicine at the University of Florida before moving to New York City to continue his training in Anesthesiology at The Mount Sinai Medical Center. After residency, Dr. Epps completed a fellowship in Human Simulation at Mount Sinai. Dr. Epps' educational focus is in human simulation and the development of simulation curricula. He has served as a guest lecturer for multiple programs both internal and external to UAB. He was the 2010 recipient of the School of Health Professions Excellence in Teaching Award and a 2013 recipient of the President's Award for Excellence in Teaching. Dr. Epps was elected to the Faculty Policies and Procedures Committee in 2009 and served as chair from 2011-2013.

Past-Chair of Faculty Senate
Julio RiveraThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
, D.B.A.

fs_julioDr. Rivera is currently the Interim Director of the Honors College at UAB, and holds an appointment as an associate professor in the UAB School of Business. He has a BS in mechanical engineering as well as an MS in business computing science from Texas A&M University, an MBA from the University of Southern Mississippi, and a doctorate in business administration from Mississippi State University. He has published more than 15 articles and professional papers. During his time at UAB, Rivera has been intimately involved with the deployment and maintenance of student and faculty computing resources. Currently, he teaches primarily in the telecommunications and programming areas, and he periodically engages in consulting activities with area organizations. An immigrant from Honduras, he has experience working outside the United States with United Fruit Co. subsidiaries, as well as CEMCOL a Honduran corporation. Dr. Rivera is married and has two children.

Secretary of Faculty Senate
Pat HigginbottomThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

fs_patriciaPat Higginbottom, MLIS, AHIP is an associate professor and serves as associate director for public services at the Lister Hill Library of the Health Sciences. She received her master’s degree in library and information sciences from the University of Alabama in 1993 and has been at LHL since then, serving in a variety of positions. She is a distinguished member of the Academy of Health Information Professionals and participated in the UAB BLAZE Leadership program in 2010/11. Higginbottom served on the UAB Faculty Senate when it was initially formed in 1995, again from 2006 until 2008, and she currently serves as secretary of the Senate. She has served on all of the standing committees at one time or another and was chair of the Governance and Operations Committee from 2006 until 2008.