Students are expected to form their thesis committee during their 2nd year, after entering the mentor's lab. Thesis committee is formed only after consultation with the mentor. This is NOT a decision the student makes alone.

  • Committee must have a minimum of 5 members.
  • Mentor is traditionally the chair of the committee, except during the thesis proposal and final defense. However, another member can be chair. That decision is the student and mentor's.
  • 1 member of the thesis committee (Graduate School prefers 2 members) must be outside the student's research area of expertise.
  • If a student has a committee member who is either not UAB faculty (at another university) or who does not have UAB Graduate Faculty status (check here), student must:
    1- request a CV (via email) from the proposed committee member
    2- complete the Recommendation for Appointment to Graduate Faculty
    3- contact the Theme office to get a letter of recommendation from the Theme Director
  • Committee form must be filled out, printed out, and taken to the Theme office for signature and submission to the Graduate School.