Welcome to the UAB Department of Anesthesiology

The UAB Department of Anesthesiology celebrated its 65th anniversary in June 2013, making it one of the oldest separate departments of anesthesiology in the country. Founded in 1948, the Department of Anesthesiology is a large, multi-hospital department providing undergraduate, graduate and continuing medical education through the UAB School of Medicine.

The Department of Anesthesiology is recognized as a national leader in the fields of clinical anesthesia, graduate and postgraduate education, and scientific inquiry through basic and translational research. Since its inception, the department has grown significantly and currently employs more than 85 faculty members involved in the delivery of patient care and research activities, 88 residents and fellows, and 60 staff members. 



Keith A. "Tony" Jones, M.D.
Professor and Chairman

The UAB Department of Anesthesiology is home to a vibrant, highly integrated and collaborative community of medical and graduate students, residents, fellows, staff, and faculty, all committed to providing the best care to adult and pediatric patients through innovative clinical services, education and research.  Read MORE...