The UAB Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine is fortunate to have several endowed chair and professorship positions, which honor physicians who were important to the development of anesthetic practice in Birmingham and Alabama. 

Keith A. Jones, M.D.
Alfred Habeeb Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology

Sadis Matalon, Ph.D, Dr.Sc. (Hon.)
Alice McNeal, M.D., Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology

Jianguo Gu, M.B., Ph.D.
Edward A. Ernst, M.D., Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology

Kevin Harrod, Ph.D. 
Benjamin Monroe Carraway, M.D., Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology

Timothy Ness, M.D., Ph.D.
Simon Gelman, M.D., Endowed Professorship in Anesthesioiogy

Jean-Francois Pittet, M.D.
David Hill Chestnut Endowed Professorship in Anesthesiology

Ursula I. Wesselmann, M.D., D.T.M.&H.
William A. Lell, M.D.–Paul N. Samuelson, M.D., Endowed Professorship in Anesthesiology