Faculty Profiles: Markus Bredel M.D., Ph.D.

Markus Bredel M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Radiation Oncology Brain Tumor Laboratory

Research Interests:

"The brain and its maladies are ever mysterious but more easily treatable than they used to be, except for brain tumors whose prognosis remains mostly infaust. Their location in the pièce de résistance of human evolution and their ability to resist any contemporary treatment are equally challenging. Despite their profound impact on the patients and families, brain tumors are comparably neglected in research and the public remains unaware of the magnitude of this disease. Our research is dedicated to bring molecular advances in the pathogenesis and therapy of human brain tumors to clinical application."


Phone (205) 934-2706

Physical Location:
Hazelrig-Salter Radiation Oncology Center
1700 6th Avenue South
Birmingham, AL 35249

Education and Postdoctoral Training:
  • Postdoctoral Fellowship, Division of Oncology, Stanford University School of Medicine, Palo Alto, CA, 2003-2005
  • Resident, Neurosurgery, University of Freiburg, Freiburg, Germany, 2001-2003
  • M.D., University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria, 2001
  • Ph.D. (summa cum laude) Experimental Neuro-Oncology, Free University of Berlin, Berlin, Germany, 2001

Awards / Honors:

  • 2003-present: Editorial Board, The Lancet Oncology
  • 2010: American Brain Tumor Association (ABTA) Young Investigator Award
  • 2009-present: Associate Editor (Cancer Therapeutics), BMC Cancer
  • 2009: Keynote Speaker, UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center Research Retreat, University of Alabama, Birmingham, AL
  • 2009: Eleanor Wood Prince Award, The Women’s Board of Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago, IL
  • 2009: Visiting Professor, Arthur G. James Comprehensive Cancer Center, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
  • 2008: Lea Charitable Trust Award
  • 2007-2009: Zell Scholar, Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center, Northwestern University, Chicago, IL
  • 2006-2007: Chair, Central Nervous System Tumors Subcommittee, Scientific Program Committee, American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)
  • 2006-2007: Translational Research Chair, Central Nervous System Tumors Subcommittee, American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)
  • 2006: Merit Award, American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)
  • 2006: German Pfizer Research Award for Medicine, University of Freiburg
  • 2003: Preuss Research Award 2003, American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS)/Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS), Section on Tumors
  • 2002: Lifeline Column, The Lancet
  • 2002: Benjamin Franklin Award, Free University of Berlin
  • 1999-2000: Hölderlin Foreign Exchange Scholarship, Alfried Krupp von Bohlen and Halbach-Foundation
  • 1997-2001: Scholar, German National Merit Foundation
  • 1997: Rhone-Poulenc-Rorer Young Investigator Award 1997 of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR)