Endowed chair holders named

The University of Alabama System Board of Trustees named seven endowed chairholders during its Feb. 3 meeting. They are James Rimmer, Ph.D., rehabilitation sciences; Devin Eckhoff, M.D., transplantation surgery; Sumanth Prabhu, M.D., cardiovascular medicine; Frances Lund, Ph.D., microbiology; Eben Rosenthal, M.D., otolaryngology; Glenn E. Peters, M.D., otolaryngology; and Richard Shelton, M.D., psychiatric research.

Rimmer is the inaugural holder of the newly established Lakeshore Foundation Endowed Chair in Health Promotion and Rehabilitation Sciences in the UAB School of Health Professions. He joined the SHP faculty in January as director of research for the Lakeshore Foundation.

Eckhoff, director of the Division of Transplantation, was appointed the Arnold G. Diethelm Endowed Chair of Transplantation Surgery in the UAB School of Medicine.

Prabhu, director of the Division of Cardiovascular Disease, was appointed the Mary Gertrude Waters Chair of Cardiovascular Medicine at UAB.

Lund, recruited to UAB in 2011, was appointed the Charles H. McCauley Chair of Microbiology in the UAB School of Medicine.

Rosenthal was appointed the John S. Odess Professor and Division Director of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery Chair.

Peters, vice chair of the Department of Surgery, was appointed the Julius N. Hicks Chair of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery in the UAB School of Medicine. Peters directed the Division of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery for 20 years.

Shelton, who joined the UAB Department of Psychiatry as a professor and vice chair for research on Feb. 1, was appointed the Charles Byron Ireland Chair of Psychiatric Research. Shelton is internationally respected for his many contributions to better understanding of depression, and is at the forefront of developing novel and innovative treatment approaches for mood disorders, especially depression.

Latest from the UAB Reporter