April 18, 2013

Julian, Safford named recipients of the Max Cooper Award

Written by
Bruce A. Julian, M.D., and Monika Safford, M.D., are the 2013 recipients of the Max Cooper Award for Research Excellence, the highest award for research in the Department of Medicine.

The annual award is given to UAB faculty members whose primary appointment is in the department and whose independent research is nationally recognized.

Julian is a professor of Medicine in the Division of Nephrology with secondary appointments in the Department of Surgery in the Division of Transplantation and in the Department of Microbiology. His primary research interest is IgA nephropathy, investigating the clinical expression and pathogenesis of the disease, identification of the genetic influences in multiplex families and recurrence after kidney transplantation.

Safford is a professor in the Division of Preventative Medicine and assistant dean for continuing medical education in the School of Medicine. Her research focuses on the elimination of health disparities in cardiometabolic disorders through observational research in the Reasons for Geographic and Racial Differences in Stroke (REGARDS) study and other large databases. She also leads Encourage, a community-based intervention research program which aims to improve health outcomes for those living with diabetes in Alabama’s rural Black Belt.

Faculty members are nominated for the award by their peers and are ranked on the basis of their achievements, including publications, research funding and leadership and national recognition, over their past four years at UAB. The Department of Medicine Research Development Group reviews the nominations and selects the recipients.

Julian and Safford will be presented the award during the Faculty Honors Reception in May.