September 14, 2016

Faculty awarded curricular enrichment and innovation awards

Written by
Seven faculty in the UAB School of Medicine have been named recipients of the 2016-2017  PROSPER Curricular Enrichment and Innovation Awards.

Totaling $20,000 and  funded through a supporting HSF-GEF grant for the PROSPER Educator Enrichment Faculty Development Program in the Office of Undergraduate Medical Education, these awards support and recognize faculty in curriculum enrichment and innovation projects in the School of Medicine. Each awardee will use the funding to promote curriculum enrichment and innovations, and to engage in medical education scholarship (e.g., medical education research, publications, and/or presentations).  

The competitive award process was open to course directors, clinical directors, content leaders and other teaching faculty educators involved in the medical school curriculum.

This 2016-2017 winners are:

Bradley Barger, Ph.D., assistant professor of Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology
"Using 3D printing to create models of soft-tissue structures for use with existing osteology specimens” 
Funding granted: $3,800

William S. Brooks, Ph.D., associate professor of Cell, Developmental, and Integrative Biology
"Segmented Pharmacology to Reduce Cognitive Load"
Funding granted: $2,000

Clinton Martin, M.D., associate professor of Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurobiology    
"Extended Outpatient Diagnostic Evaluation and Short Term Treatment, Child and Adolescent Clinic "
Funding granted: $2,000

William Sasser, M.D., assistant professor of Pediatrics      
"Pilot Study:  Development of a Pediatric Fourth Year Course Selection Road Map"
Funding granted: $2,000

Terrence (Terry) Shaneyfelt , M.D., assistant professor of Medicine
"Instructional Coaching Using EDTHENA to Improve Teaching Behaviors"
Funding granted: $2,500

Heather Taylor, M.D., associate professor of Pediatrics, Tuscaloosa Regional Campus
"Bringing Community into the Clerkship Case Presentation"
Funding granted: $4,000

Marjorie Lee White, M.D., M.P.P.M., M.A., associate professor of Pediatrics, Emergency Medicine and Medical Education
And collaborators:  Dawn Taylor Peterson, Ph.D., assistant professor of Medical Education; Todd Peterson, M.D., FACEP, associate professor of Emergency Medicine and Shilpa J. Register, Ph.D., M.S., O.D., researcher in the Office of Interprofessional Simulation
"Incorporating peer assessment to enhance interprofessional education in a simulation patient care environment" 
Funding granted: $3,700