April 18, 2017

SOM faculty recognized for exceptional mentorship by UAB Graduate School

Written by
SOM Faculty winners of UAB Graduate Dean's Excellence in Mentorship Awards Twelve School of Medicine faculty were recently honored as winners of the UAB Graduate Dean's Excellence in Mentorship Award.

The awards, presented at a reception on April 6, recognize full-time regular UAB faculty members who have demonstrated exceptional accomplishments as mentors of graduate students and/or postdoctoral fellows. Award winners were presented plaques as well as memory books that contain the letters their mentees and colleagues wrote to nominate them for the honor. 

School of Medicine faculty recognized are:

  • Stephen G. Aller, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • William J. Britt, M.D., professor, Division of Pediatric Infectious Disease
  • Cynthia J. Brown, M.D., professor and Director, Division of Gerontology, Geriatrics and Palliative Care
  • Qiang Ding, Ph.D., associate professor, Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine
  • James F. George, Ph.D., professor, Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery
  • Orlando Gutierrez, M.D., associate professor, Division of Nephrology
  • Farah Lubin, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Neurobiology
  • Lalita Shevde-Samant, Ph.D., professor, Department of Pathology
  • Yuhua Song, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Kristina M. Visscher, Ph.D., assistant professor, Department of Neurobiology
  • C. Roger White, Ph.D., professor, Division of Cardiovascular Disease
  • Frank Wolschendorf, Ph.D., assistant professor, Division of Infectious Diseases