April 26, 2017

Vickers named to Association of American Physicians

Written by
vickersSelwyn M. Vickers, M.D., FACS, senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the UAB School of Medicine, has been named to the prestigious Association of American Physicians.

Vickers, who joined UAB as dean of the School of Medicine in October 2013, is the James C. Lee Endowed Chair and professor of Surgery in the Division of Gastrointestinal Surgery. Election to membership is among the most widely recognized measures of scholarly excellence among senior faculty members. 

The Association of American Physicians is a nonprofit, professional organization founded in 1885 by seven physicians for the advancement of scientific and practical medicine. Now, the Association is composed of about 1,700 active members and approximately 600 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada and other countries.

The Association’s goals include the pursuit of medical knowledge, and the advancement through experimentation and discovery of basic and clinical science and its application to clinical medicine. Each year, individuals having attained excellence in achieving these goals are recognized by nomination for membership by the Council of the Association. Their election gives them the opportunity to share their scientific discoveries and contributions with their colleagues at the annual meeting.