June 07, 2017

Otolaryngology faculty honored by ARS

Written by
RS12648 Do Yeon Cho 5 scrDo-Yeon Cho, M.D.Faculty in the Department of Otolaryngology were recently recognized with honors from the American Rhinologic Society.

Do-Yeon Cho, M.D., assistant professor in the Department of Otolaryngology and the director of Otolaryngology Research, received the ARS New Investigator Award, a grant given annually to support basic, translational, or clinical research projects in rhinology.

RS7949 bradford woodworth 2008 1 scrBradford Woodworth, M.D.A study from the lab of Bradford A. Woodworth, M.D., FACS, James J. Hicks Professor of Otolaryngology, was awarded the Spring ARS Basic Science Research Award, presented to the best basic science research paper presented at the Combined Otolaryngologic Spring Meetings. UAB authors on the paper titled “Assessment of acquired mucociliary clearance defects using micro-optical coherence tomography” include Kiranya E. Tipirneni, M.D., Jessica W. Grayson, M.D., Shaoyan Zhang, Ph.D., Do-Yeon Cho, M.D., Daniel F. Skinner, Dong-Jin Lim, Ph.D., Calvin Mackey, Guillermo J. Tearney, M.D., Ph.D., Steven M. Rowe, M.D., MSPH, and Bradford A. Woodworth, M.D.

The American Rhinologic Society is dedicated excellence in patient care, research and education in Rhinology and Skull Base Disorders through providing communication and fellowship to the members of the Rhinologic community through on-going medical education, patient advocacy, and social programs.