June 19, 2017

Faculty projects funded through an AMC21 initiative

Written by
Five School of Medicine faculty projects were recently funded through an AMC21 initiative, giving NIH-funded investigators incentive to submit a second R01.  

The projects, chosen based on scientific merit, were eligible for $50,000 per year for a project period of up to two years, pending appropriate progress and achieving benchmarks. The goal is have a new funded R01 by the second year. 

Those awarded are: 

Lalita Shevde-Samant, Ph.D., associate professor in the Division of Molecular and Cellular Pathology and scientist at the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center
“Mechanisms Underlying Hyperglycemia Associated Triple-Negative Breast Cancer Progression”

Sunil Sudarshan, M.D., associate professor in the Department of Urology
“Personalized Approach to L-2HG Driven Renal Cancer via an Unexpected Metabolic Liability”

Talene Yacoubian, M.D., Ph.D., associate Professor of Neurology and Neurobiology
“Role of 14-3-3 proteins in Alzheimer’s disease”

James Markert, M.D., MPH, Professor and James Garber Galbraith Endowed Chair of Neurosurgery
“Regulation of CD4+ T cell cytotoxic and memory responses to gliomas by oncolytic HSV”

Trent Tipple, M.D., Associate Professor/Director, Neonatology Faculty Development/Chair
“Harnessing the Anti-inflammatory and Antibacterial Effects of Thioredoxin Reductase-1 Inhibition to Treat Acute Lung Injury”