October 25, 2017

Promoted women faculty honored at annual reception

Written by
2017 Women in Science and Medicine Promotion Reception “We are here tonight to celebrate exceptional women,” said Mona Fouad, M.D., MPH, “who are working to make significant advances in research, in teaching, in mentoring, and in clinical work. Years ago, each of the women recognized tonight made a deliberate choice to seek out excellence regardless of inequities or of personal and professional obstacles. Tonight, we rejoice in your achievement.”

Fouad, senior associate dean for Diversity and Inclusion in the School of Medicine, addressed a group of women faculty and their families, colleagues, division leaders and department chairs, gathered in the Wallace Tumor Institute Lobby to celebrate the promotion of 14 women to the position of professor. An annual event sponsored by the School of Medicine Office for Diversity and Inclusion, the October 19 reception was the third of its kind, intended to recognize the exceptional strides women are making within the School of Medicine.

In 2015, when the Women in Medicine and Science Promotion Reception was launched, four women were promoted to the position of professor. In 2016, that number more than doubled, to ten women. In 2017, the Office for Diversity and Inclusion was delighted to recognize 14 women attaining the rank of professor.

Each honoree was introduced by her department chair, or a representative sent by the chair. Each of the women faculty honored was outstanding in her field in important ways, from innovative contributions to research, to exceptional clinical achievements, to the attainment of significant grant funding. Many of the women honored had gained not only national recognition for their work, but had made a name for themselves on the global stage as well.

At the conclusion of the segment recognizing the individual promoted faculty, Selwyn Vickers, M.D., FACS, senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the School of Medicine, addressed the crowd. “This is an impressive group,” he said. “Each of the women on this list is a pioneer and a role model. You serve as a role model to those that come after you not only by being present at your level of accomplishment, but also by being the best. I could not be more excited; your achievements raise the bar for everyone at UAB.”

The women faculty promoted to the rank of full professor are: Teresa J. Bryan, M.D.; Melissa R. Chambers, M.D.; Yu-Ying Chen, M.D., Ph.D.; Karen L. Cropsey, PsyD.; Lynn Dobrunz, Ph.D.; Maaike Everts, Ph.D.; Elena I. Frolova, Ph.D.; Kimberly H. Hoover, M.D.; Laura B. Hughes, M.D., MSPH; Sheri M. Jenkins, M.D.; Vineeta Kumar, M.D.; Jayne M. Ness, M.D., Ph.D.; Priya Prabhakaran, M.D.; and Tina Y. Simpson, M.D., MPH.

In addition, 18 women were promoted to the rank of associate professor. They are: Amy W. Amara, M.D., Ph.D.; Kerri S. Bevis, M.D., MSPH; Margaret M. Boozer, M.D., MPH; Sherry S. Collawn, M.D., Ph.D.; Jennifer B. Gordetsky, M.D.; Jeonga Kim, Ph.D.; Sara E. Mazzoni, M.D., MPH; Jessica S. Merlin, M.D., MBA; Christina A. Muzny, M.D.; Rita W. Patton, M.D.; Deniz Peker, M.D.; Yam Y. Sanders, M.D.; Alethia R. Sellers, M.D.; Kristen L. Triebel, PsyD; Lauren A. Walter, M.D.; Luisa A. Wetta, M.D.; Karina J. Yoon, Ph.D.; and Nabiha Yusuf, Ph.D.