November 01, 2017

Eckhoff named interim Comprehensive Transplant Institute director

Written by
RS17020 Devin Eckhoff 1rt scrDevin Eckhoff, M.D., the Arnold G. Diethelm Endowed Chair in Transplantation Surgery, has been named interim chair of the UAB Comprehensive Transplant Institute, effective Oct. 30.

Eckhoff has been part of the UAB faculty since 1994 when he joined the Division of Transplantation in the Department of Surgery. He has been director of the Division of Transplantation since 2003 and co-director of the Comprehensive Transplant Institute since 2011 and medical director of transplantation since 2013.

“I’m excited to build on the legacy of Dr. Gaston and under the new strategic leadership structure at UAB to further enhance UAB’s national and international reputation for research and clinical excellence,” Eckhoff said.

He will succeed Dr. Robert Gaston who retired earlier this year. Eckhoff will be in this interim position while UAB Medicine leaders conduct a national search for a permanent CTI director.

Eckhoff earned his medical degree from the University of Minnesota in 1986 before completing his surgical residency in 1992 and transplantation clinical and research fellowship in 1994.