January 23, 2018

Nominate your SOM colleagues for the 2018 Dean’s Excellence Awards

Written by

deans excellence awardsNominations are now open for the 2018 Dean’s Excellence Awards, an annual honor established to recognize the outstanding contributions made by faculty across the School of Medicine.

In response to the growing number of nominations for these awards, the School of Medicine will be expanding the number of winners in three durable missional areas—service, teaching and research—by giving awards to two junior (instructor or assistant professor) and two senior (associate or full professor) faculty members. It will continue giving an award to a junior faculty member and a senior faculty member for contributions to diversity enhancement and mentoring. View the profiles of previous award winners.

The awards will be selected in a peer-reviewed process facilitated by a member of the Dean’s leadership team. Any full-time faculty member may nominate a faculty colleague for any of these awards.

Nomination letters should specify the award, not exceed a length of one page (11-point font, 1-inch margins) and be submitted as paper or pdf documents to Heather McGuire (FOT 1207 or hmcguire@uab.edu), Faculty Recruiting and Awards Program Director, by 5 p.m. on March 16, 2018. Individual letters of support are not required and will not be considered by the selection committees as a matter of fairness to all nominees. A current copy of the nominated faculty member’s curriculum vitae should accompany the nomination letter.