May 02, 2018

Willett named president-elect of APDIM

Written by

RS20997 Lisa Willett 6 scrLisa Willett, M.D., MACM, program director for the Tinsley Harrison Internal Medicine Residency Program and vice chair for Education and professor in the UAB Department of Medicine, has been named president-elect of the Association of Program Directors in Internal Medicine (APDIM) Council. Her new term will begin July 1, 2018.

“I am thrilled that Dr. Willett has been recognized as a national leader in graduate medical education and will lead APDIM as its president in 2019,” said C. Seth Landefeld, M.D., chair of the UAB Department of Medicine. “Dr. Willett embodies the best in medical education—curiosity, kindness and a love of teaching—and has built an absolutely wonderful training program in internal medicine at UAB. She captivates and inspires residents from across the country with her program creed, ‘excellence without ego,’ and she leads them as a devoted and diverse community of young physicians.”

Members nominated candidates from Sept. 18-Oct. 16. Individual councils selected the final candidates for the ballot after reviewing all eligible nominations. Willett was elected by a majority of the ballots cast.

APDIM, a part of the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine AAIM, is an international organization of accredited internal medicine residency programs. The association represents program directors, associate and assistant program directors, core faculty, program administrators and coordinators, fellowship coordinators, and other key faculty and staff involved in the internal medicine residency program.