May 23, 2018

Fifteen faculty members named winners of the 2018 Dean's Excellence Awards

Written by

deansFifteen outstanding faculty members were named recipients of the 2018 Dean’s Excellence Awards, an honor recognizing exceptional contributions made by School of Medicine faculty in service, teaching, research, diversity enhancement and mentorship.

"I am so pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Dean's Excellence Awards," said Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., FACS, senior vice president for Medicine and Dean of the UAB School of Medicine. "These awards acknowledge and celebrate the excellent work done by our faculty across these key areas. Each of the individuals honored this year have much to be proud of in their careers here at UAB, and I greatly appreciate what they bring to our community and this institution."

The 2018 winners are:

Excellence in Research
Adam Wende, Ph.D.
Andre Ballesteros-Tato, Ph.D.
Steven Rowe, M.D., MSPH
John Kearney, Ph.D.

Excellence in Teaching 
Stephanie Berger, M.D.
Michael Barnett, M.D., MS, FAAP, FAAHPM
Marisa Marques, M.D.
Vineeta Kumar, M.D.

Excellence in Service
Ben Wei, M.D.
Chad Petit, Ph.D.
Veena Antony, M.D.
Sarah Nafziger, M.D.

Excellence in Mentorship
Senior: Stu Frank, M.D.

Excellence in Diversity Enhancement
Junior: Jaime McKinney, M.D.
Senior: Monica Baskin, Ph.D.