September 12, 2018

Faculty honored at 2018 Argus Awards ceremony

Written by

ArtworkCreated in 1996, the Argus Awards give medical students the chance to honor their mentors, professors, courses and course directors for outstanding service to medical education. Faculty members are nominated by course evaluations, and students vote to select award winners in each category.

Argus Award recipients and nominees were honored at a reception on Friday, Sept. 7 at the UAB Alumni House.

Winners of the 2018 Argus Awards are:

Pre-Clinical Awards

Best Introductory Module
• Fundamentals of Medicine
o Module Director(s): Laura Fraser, Ph.D., Cell, Developmental & Integrative Biology

Best MS1 Organ Module
• Renal
o Module Director(s): Mark Bevensee, Ph.D., Cell, Developmental & Integrative Biology; Vineeta Kumar, M.D., Medicine; Eric Judd, M.D., Medicine

Best MS2 Organ Module:
• Reproductive Systems
o Module Director(s): Jennifer Gordetsky, M.D., Pathology; Erin Cook, M.D., Obstetrics & Gynecology

Best Educator: Patient, Doctor & Society
• Michael Saag, M.D., Medicine

Best Educator: Fundamentals of Medicine
• Martin Young, Ph.D., Medicine

Best Educator: Cardiovascular
• Harish Doppalapudi, M.D., Medicine

Best Educator: Pulmonary
• James Johnson, M.D., Medicine

Best Educator: Gastrointestinal
• Chad Burski, M.D., Medicine

Best Educator: Renal
• Eric Judd, M.D., Medicine
• Vineeta Kumar, M.D., Medicine
• Ashita Tolwani, M.D., Medicine

Best Educator: Musculoskeletal & Skin
• William Brooks, Ph.D., Cell, Developmental & Integrative Biology

Best Educator: Neurosciences
• Michael Lyerly, M.D., Neurology

Best Educator: Hematology/Oncology
• Lawrence Williams, M.D., Pathology

Best Educator: Endocrine Systems
• Shawn Galin, Ph.D., Medicine

Best Educator: Reproductive Systems
• Jennifer Gordetsky, M.D., Pathology

Clinical Awards

Caduceus Club Award for Best Clinical Department on the Birmingham Campus
• Pediatrics

Caduceus Club Award for Excellence in Clinical Education on the Birmingham Campus
• Hussein Abdullatif, M.D., Pediatrics

Best Clinical Department: Huntsville Campus
• Internal Medicine

Best Clinical Educator: Huntsville Campus
• Joseph Fiore, Jr, M.D., Obstetrics & Gynecology

Best Clinical Department: Montgomery Campus
• Obstetrics & Gynecology

Best Clinical Educator: Montgomery Campus
• Gregory Waller, M.D., Obstetrics & Gynecology

Best Clinical Department: Tuscaloosa Campus
• Pediatrics

Best Clinical Educator: Tuscaloosa Campus
• Charles Gross, M.D., Surgery

• Best Resident Educator, Birmingham Campus: Alexander Cohen, M.D., Obstetrics & Gynecology

• Best Resident Educator, Huntsville Campus: Kelly Diaz, M.D., Family Medicine

• Best Resident Educator, Montgomery Campus: Sumana Reddy, M.D., Internal Medicine

• Best Resident Educator, Tuscaloosa Campus: Russell Guin, M.D., Family Medicine

• Best Community-Based Educator, Birmingham: Scott R. Weisberg, M.D., Family Medicine

• Best Community-Based Educator, Huntsville: Gabriel Belue, M.D., Family Medicine

• Best Community-Based Educator, Montgomery: Stephen Suggs, M.D., Neurology

• Best Community-Based Educator, Tuscaloosa: Larry Skelton, M.D., Family Medicine

• Award for Medical Student Support: James Baños, Ph.D., Medical Education

• The Dale J. Benos Award for Educational Excellence: Catherine Fuller, Ph.D., Cell, Developmental & Integrative Biology