January 30, 2019

2019 Pittman Scholars announced

Written by

Screen Shot 2019 01 30 at 3.05.22 PMFive faculty members in the UAB School of Medicine have been named the 2019 class of James A. Pittman Jr., M.D., Scholars—a program created to recognize the contributions of junior faculty and support the recruitment and retention of highly competitive scientists and physician-scientists.

The Pittman Scholars, named for the late James A. Pittman, M.D., longtime dean of the School of Medicine from 1973 to 1992, are nominated by their department chairs based on their research achievements and their potential for continued discovery in the basic or clinical sciences. Pittman is considered a principal architect of the School for his ability to recruit top scientists and physicians to UAB.

Five Pittman Scholars are selected each academic year. The selected class of scholars receive $12,500 per year for five years to support the faculty member’s research-related activities or scholarly enrichment.

The 2019 Pittman Scholars are:

Matt Alexander, Ph.D., Department of Pediatrics

Aaron Fobian, Ph.D., Department of Psychiatry

Alexa Mattheyses, Ph.D., Department of Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology

Pankaj Arora, M.D., Deparment of Medicine

Kyle Wood, M.D., Department of Urology