March 20, 2019

Dean's Excellence Award winner profile: Steven Rowe, M.D., MSPH

Written by

Steven Rowe, professor in the Department of Medicine's Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, & Critical Care Medicine, is one of two senior faculty winners for the Dean's Excellence Award in Research.

Rowe received his medical degree from Vanderbilt University in 1998 and an MSPH from the University of Alabama at Birmingham in 2005. He completed a combined Internal Medicine and Pediatrics internship and residency at UAB. He also completed a combined Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine and Pediatric Pulmonary fellowship at UAB. In 2014, Rowe was promoted to professor with tenure in the Departments of Medicine (Pulmonary, Allergy, and Critical Care Medicine), Pediatrics (Pediatric Pulmonology), and Cell, Developmental and Integrative Biology. He is the Director of the Gregory Fleming Cystic Fibrosis Research Center, which involves over 100 faculty members and has been continuously funded for over 25 years. Rowe is board certified in Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Pulmonary Medicine and Critical Care Medicine, and he serves as a Special Consultant for Translational Science for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

Rowe has a remarkable ability to identify, establish and cultivate effective collaborations across institutional and geographic boundaries. He established a prolific six-year collaboration with Guillermo Tearney, M.D., Ph.D., to advance µOCT imaging for use in respiratory epithelia to ask seminal questions in airway biology. Rowe initiated an eight-year collaboration with Mark Dransfield, M.D., to investigate acquired CFTR dysfunction in COPD. He has a seven-year collaboration with David Bedwell, Ph.D., to advance translational readthrough approaches for genetic disease. Rowe is also highly effective in research consortia. He leads the International Mucus Clearance Consortium, involving fundamental and translational scientists. He is also a key member of the cystic fibrosis research community, helping lead the Cystic Fibrosis Therapeutics Development Network through the Center for CFTR Detection.