August 28, 2019

UAB Medicine establishes the Institute for Leadership

Written by

instituteThe UAB Medicine Leadership Development Office (LDO) has announced the launch of the Institute for Leadership, a development program designed to enhance existing personal, managerial and leadership capabilities. The program represents an intentional investment to foster excellence in critical competencies and to promote the ongoing success of UAB Medicine.

The pilot program, which kicked off August 10, consists of seven competency-based workshops that will expedite the participants’ leadership journeys. Program goals include forming personal development plans, learning teambuilding principles, strengthening managerial skills and outlining ways to establish partnerships with other leaders. The program is grounded in current theory but delivered in a more experiential, practical way.

“Here at UAB Medicine, we’re always looking for ways to continue developing outstanding leaders,” said Selwyn Vickers, M.D., FACS, senior vice president for medicine and dean of the School of Medicine. “The Institute for Leadership will provide excellent resources to develop these individuals to their full potential, thereby strengthening our organization as a whole.”

Participants in the Institute for Leadership were selected based on their existing development journey, past experience with the LDO and recognition as high-potential employees. Directed by Jean Ann Larson, Ph.D., chief leadership development officer, and Matthew Painter, Ph.D., director of leadership development, the Institute for Leadership is the most recent offering in UAB Medicine’s comprehensive leadership development strategy. “We recognized an opportunity to further invest in these important leaders,” said Larson. “We’re extremely excited that this strategic program is amplifying our leadership capabilities.”

“For UAB Medicine to be the Preferred AMC of the 21st Century (AMC21), we must have excellent leaders,” said William Ferniany, Ph.D., CEO of UAB Health System. “One way we are continuing to invest in our leaders and their growth and development is through the Institute for Leadership.”

The program will conclude in December with individual presentations of the participants’ personal development plans and a graduation ceremony.

Institute for Leadership Class of 2019:

Khurram Bashir, M.D., MPH, Neurology, Vice Chair for Education and Division Director of Neuroimmunology
Amanda Chambers, MSN, CPAN, UAB Hospital, Perioperative Director
Stuart Cohen, M.D., Primary Care, Chief of Prime Care
Christina Crowe, M.A., Pathology, Communications Specialist
Jennifer DeWolfe, D.O., Neurology, Division Director of Epilepsy Monitoring Unit
Donna Dye, MSN, Director of Ambulatory Services
Mason Frazier, M.D., UAB Hospital, Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs and Executive Medical Director of Radiology
Trevor Lever, MSN, UAB Hospital, Associate VP Cancer Center Service Line
Craig MacKinnon, M.D., Ph.D., Pathology, Division Director for Genomics and Bioinformatics
Ragan Manning, MBA, MSHA, Senior Director Resource Utilization
Jennifer Peterson, PharmD, UAB Hospital, Senior Director Pharmacy Services
Brent Ponce, M.D., Orthopaedics, Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs, Associate Professor Orthopaedic Surgery
Madison Redwine, M.D., Psychiatry, Associate Professor and Division Director of Geriatric Psychology
Jill Stewart, MSN, AVP Quality, Patient Safety, & Clinical Effectiveness
Jerzy Szaflarski, M.D., Ph.D., Neurology, Division Director of Epilepsy
Kemberly Williams, MSN, RN-BC, Ambulatory, Senior Director for External Ambulatory Clinics