May 23, 2022

Snyder named 2022 Dean’s Excellence Award winner in Teaching

Written by

Snyder ErinErin Snyder, M.D., professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine, is the senior faculty winner of the 2022 Dean’s Excellence Award in Teaching.  

She serves as an assistant program director of the Tinsley Harrison Internal Medicine Residency Program, program director of the Primary Care Scholars Program, director of Whitaker Teaching Clinic, and the inaugural physician director of Ambulatory Care for the Department of Medicine.   

A recognized national leader, Snyder is passionate about advancing primary care education. Her curriculum development includes after-hours interprofessional courses for Honors College Students, Ambulatory Morning Report, Ambulatory Block, and RIME Week courses. Snyder’s lessons influence more than a third of medical students at UAB.  

In 2017, Snyder launched the UAB Primary Care Scholars program to promote the growth of primary care physicians. The program allows residents to experience high-performing outpatient practices, understand team-based primary care, and develop into future leaders of primary care.  

She has received multiple honors from trainees, including Argus Awards and the Gustavo Heudebert Award. Additionally, she earned the Southern Society of General Internal Medicine Award for Leadership.  

Recently, Snyder conducted a national multisite study to investigate how gender and ethnicity biases threaten the integrity of the resident assessment. Her findings could inform national policy in medical education.  

Snyder earned her medical degree and completed her residency at UAB. She joined the Division of General Internal Medicine in 2006 and is currently a professor.