September 25, 2023

Gidley named 2023 Dean’s Excellence Award for Staff winner

Written by

Kristi Gidley webKristina “Kristi” Gidley, PA-C, MSHA, who serves as the executive administrator within the Department of Otolaryngology, has been selected as a recipient of the inaugural Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff.

“It is an honor to be nominated for the inaugural Dean’s Excellence Award for Staff, let alone chosen as a recipient. I am truly humbled by the recognition. I strive to lead by example with integrity and conviction, and this award validates and inspires me on many levels,” says Gidley.

Her diligence in nurturing a sense of community, cultivating collaboration among faculty and staff, advocating for peers, and presenting thoughtful solutions distinguishes her as an outstanding staff member of the department.

Gidley conveys exceptional leadership qualities by overseeing faculty recruitment initiatives, education and research program development, and philanthropy advancement through stakeholder engagement.

Among her many initiatives of recruiting top-tier faculty to the department, Gidley’s strategic acquisition of funds from the Health Services Foundation and stakeholder engagement led to the successful recruitment of renowned laryngologist Blake Simpson, M.D., and Edie Hapner, Ph.D., an internationally recognized speech pathologist. This recruitment aligned with the mission approved by the Board of Trustees to establish a world-class voice center, marking it as the first and only program of its kind in Alabama.

Furthermore, Gidley worked with esteemed alumni Gary Turner, M.D., FACS, to establish an endowed lectureship for the department, attracting distinguished guest speakers from notable institutions nationwide. She also worked to allocate support for a resident research development fund, creating an endowed program that encourages competition among second-year residents for research grant funding to garner increased interest in academic otolaryngology and research among residents.

By participating in both the UAB School of Medicine and multiple national organizations, Gidley showcases her dedication to leadership and involvement. Her engagement spans across 18 different UAB Medicine committees, and Gidley played a pivotal role as a founding member of the Momentum Executive Leadership Program.

Upon her recent completion of the UAB Healthcare Leadership Academy certification, Gidley was invited to join the advisory committee for the program. Presently, she holds the position of president of the Society of Physician Assistants in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery (SPAO-HNS).

“Kristi exemplifies outstanding institutional citizenship, embodying the values and dedication that support UAB's academic mission. She has successfully developed innovative educational and research programs, demonstrating resourcefulness while also encouraging philanthropy,” says Bradford Woodworth, M.D., interim chair of the Department of Otolaryngology.

The Heersink School of Medicine Dean’s Excellence Awards for Staff recognize and honor individual Heersink staff members who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments and significantly supported Heersink’s core mission areas of education, clinical care, and research.