April 03, 2014

Former Radiology Chair Stanley awarded Cannon Medal

Written by
Former UAB Department of Radiology Chair Robert J. Stanley, M.D., was awarded the Walter B. Cannon Medal by the Society of Abdominal Radiology (SAR) at its 2014 annual meeting in Boca Raton, Florida, March 23-28.

Robert20Stanley20SAR20Cannon20Medal202014Stanley, center, with RSNA Board Chair Dr. Richard Baron, left, and SAR President Dr. Alec Megibow.The Cannon Medal is presented annually to a distinguished radiologist who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of gastrointestinal and abdominal radiology and to SAR.

Stanley, now professor emeritus, came to UAB as chair of the radiology department in 1982, serving in that role until his retirement in 2013.

He is a past president of the Society of Uroradiology, which joined with the Society of Gastrointestinal Radiologists to form SAR in 2012. He also served eight years as a trustee of the American Board of Radiology and was responsible for its written and oral examinations in GI radiology.

Stanley began his career in abdominal imaging at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology, Washington University, St. Louis, where he was chief of abdominal radiology and co-director of one of the first body CT facilities. He and others coauthored the seminal textbook, Computed Body Tomography with MRI Correlation, now in its fourth edition.

Stanley was elected into Fellowship of the American College of Radiology (ACR) in 1981, Honorary Fellowship in the Royal Australasian College of Radiologists in 1988, and Honorary Fellowship in the Faculty of Radiologists of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland in 2005. In 2008, he received the prestigious Gold Medal for Distinguished Service to Radiology from the American Roentgen Ray Society, an organization for which he served as president and as editor-in-chief of its American Journal of Roentgenology.

The honoree also has served on the ACR Board of Chancellors, including a term as vice president, and he chaired its Commission on Standards and Accreditation. He is a past president of the Alabama Academy of Radiology and served six years as an ACR Councilor.