February 19, 2015

Nominations now open for the Dean's Excellence Awards

Written by
Nominations are now open for the Dean’s Excellence Awards, annual honors re-established within the School of Medicine to recognize the outstanding contributions made by faculty across the School of Medicine.

Two awards will be given in each year—one to a junior faculty member (instructor or assistant professor) and the other to a senior faculty member (associate professor or full professor)—in the areas of service, teaching, research, diversity enhancement and mentorship.  All full-time faculty members are eligible for nomination.

“This is a challenging landscape for clinical and research faculty, and taking time to support and appreciate each other has been overtaken by other activities in this academic climate,” said David Rogers, M.D., MHPE, senior associate dean for Faculty Affairs and Professional Development. “We’re aware of the critical role faculty play in the School of Medicine and want to recognize excellence in work they’re doing.”

The awards will be selected in a peer-review process facilitated by a member of the Dean’s leadership team and will involve a selection committee, Rogers said. Any full time-faculty member may nominate a faculty colleague for any of the awards, and self-nominations will also be accepted.

Nomination letters should specify the award and not exceed a length of one page (11 point font, one inch margins). Submissions should be sent as paper or pdf documents by 11:59 p.m. on April 10 to Heather McGuire, faculty recruiting and awards program director (FOT 1207 or hmcguire@uab.edu).

“It’s important for us to recognize all the work being done across our academic missions. Re-establishing this gives us a chance to highlight faculty who’ve achieved at a level of excellence recognized by their peers,” said Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., F.A.C.S., senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the School of Medicine.

Winners of the Dean’s Excellence Awards will be announced in June.