April 30, 2015

SOM faculty among those honored for excellence in mentorship

Written by
grad school awardsWinners of the 2015 UAB Graduate School Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentorship: Cathleen Cummings, Lawrence DeLucas, James Ernest, Randa Hall, Gwendalyn King, James Meador-Woodruff (not pictured), Paul Muntner (not pictured), Christina Ochsenbauer, Nada Souccar and Janet Turan. Photo courtesy of Mike Strawn.Three School of Medicine faculty members were honored last week as recipients of the 2015 UAB Graduate School Dean’s Awards for Excellence in Mentorship.

Gwendalyn King, Ph.D., assistant professor of Neurobiology; James Meador-Woodruff, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neurobiology; and Christina Ochsenbauer, Ph.D., assistant professor of Medicine in the Division of Hematology and Oncology, were among the 10 awardees honored during a reception on April 21 at the UAB Alumni House.

Each recipient was identified for their skills in mentorship by their colleagues and trainees. Current and past trainees submitted five or more heartfelt letters to nominate their mentors for the awards. Those letters were included in a bound memory book given to each award recipient along with a personalized plaque in recognition of their achievement.

The other recipients include:  Cathleen Cummings, Ph.D. (Art and Art History) Lawrence DeLucas, O.D. (Optometry); James Ernest, Ph.D. (Early Childhood Education); Randa Hall, M.S., MBA (Health Services Administration); Paul Muntner, Ph.D. (Epidemiology); Nada Souccar, DDS (Orthodontics); and Janet Turan, Ph.D. (Health Care Organization and Policy).