Gastroenterology group 2018 edited 003

The UAB Division of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition at Children's of Alabama provides comprehensive multidisciplinary evaluation and management of all pediatric gastrointestinal, liver and nutritional problems. These may include such common conditions as inflammatory bowel disease, liver transplants, metabolic diseases and nutritional disorders. The division provides both inpatient and outpatient consultative services. State of the art gastroenterology laboratory and endoscopy facilities perform a number of diagnostic and therapeutic procedures which include: upper and lower endoscopy with biopsies, polypectomies, variceal sclerotherapy and banding, foreign body removal from upper GI tract, dilations, percutaneous liver biopsies, pH probe, hydrogen breath testing and anorectal motility testing.

Multidisciplinary patient-centered care is the focus of the Division. Close interaction with Pediatric Surgery, Radiology, Pathology, Anesthesiology and Nutrition services provide ample opportunity for optimizing patient care. Special interests of the division members include GER, abdominal pain, motility disorders, liver disease, lipid disorders, functional GI disorders, childhood obesity, and inflammatory bowel disease. An ACGME accredited subspecialty training program offers subspecialty residents a wide range of clinical experience.

Faculty & Staff

Division Director

Reed Dimmitt, M.D., MSPH

Faculty List

GI Faculty

Staff

Staff

Nichole Burnett
Administrative Supervisor
nburnett@peds.uab.edu
(205) 638-9873

Amanda Cook
Admin Office Specialist IV
amcook@peds.uab.edu

Lynne Braswell
Admin Office Specialist III
lbraswell@peds.uab.edu

Sonja Burns
Administrative Office Specialist III
sburns@peds.uab.edu

Lisa Friedman
Administrative Office Specialist III
lfriedman@peds.uab.edu

Crystal Burney
Administrative Office Specialist III
cburney@peds.uab.edu 

Tracey Baker
Administrative Office Specialist II
tbaker@peds.uab.edu

Liares Dupree
Pediatric HSF Scheduler
ldupree@peds.uab.edu

Bonnie Hawkins
Fellowship Program Coordinator
bhawkins@peds.uab.edu

Lisa Mosteller-Barnum
Program Coordinator II
lbarnum@peds.uab.edu 

Caroline Keller
Researcher III
ckeller@peds.uab.edu

Pooja Nagaraj
Researcher III
pnagaraj@peds.uab.edu 

Julia Easton
GI Clinic Coordinator, CoA Staff
Julia.easton@childrensal.org

Nurse Practitioners

Clinic Providers

Suzanne Hammett, CRNP

Suzanne Hammett, CRNP

Pediatric Nurse Practitioner specializing in general Gastroenterology and Eosinophilic disorders. Employed by Children's of Alabama for over 20 years.  Certified by the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board and member of the CHS Advanced Practice Council.    Adjunct Faculty for the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing Master’s program.   
Research 
1.  Effectiveness of Video Education for Children with Constipation and Encopresis
2.  Eosinophilic Esophagitis:  Are their differences between gender, race or age?
3.  Eosinophils and Inflammation 

Laurel Williams, CRNP

Laurel Williams, CRNP

Pediatric Nurse Practitioner specializing in general Gastroenterology. Employed by Children's of Alabama for over 25 years.  Certified by the Pediatric Nursing Certification Board and member of the CHS Advanced Practice Council.  

 

Michelle Hindman, CRNP

Michelle Hindman, CRNP

Pediatric Nurse Practitioner certified by the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners. Over 25 years of nursing experience including over 20 years as a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner. Strong experience working in GI and primary care and over 10 years of general GI experience. 

Division Nurse Practitioners

Corie Segrest, CRNP

Corie Segrest, CRNP

GI Inpatient Services 

 

Linda Wilkinson, CRNP

Linda Wilkinson, CRNP

Intestinal Rehabilitation

 

Taylor Knight, CRNP

Taylor Knight, CRNP

Inflammatory Bowel Disease

 

Amy Urban, CRNP

Amy Urban, CRNP

General GI

 

Megan Moseley, CRNP

Megan Moseley, CRNP

GI Inpatient/ General GI