canon 0720

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (UTMB) John Sealy School of Medicine Alumni Association Board of Trustees named Cheri L. Canon, M.D., FACR, FAAWR, FSAR, as a 2022 Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni Award recipient.

The Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni (ASDA) Awards candidates are recommended to the Board of Trustees by the ASDA awards committee after an in-depth review that is based on recognized contributions to the medical field, support for the high standards of excellence within the profession, and the prestige reflected upon UTMB.

Dr. Canon, class of 1994, was presented the award at a reception held in honor of the 2022 recipients and during the UTMB John Sealy School of Medicine Commencement Ceremony.

The ASDA Awards are the highest alumni honor given by the university's John Sealy School of Medicine Alumni Association. It recognizes outstanding service to the medical profession and to humanity, while honoring the memory of Dr. Ashbel Smith, a prominent figure in Texas medicine, politics and education. Smith was considered the driving force behind establishing the University of Texas at Austin in 1881, and a medical department that would later be known as the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston in 1891.

Congratulations on this well-deserved honor, Dr. Canon!