TimelineOver the last several months, the UAB Department of Surgery has worked to create a timeline of department history, milestones and achievements.

This project was commissioned by Department of Surgery Chair Herbert Chen, M.D., FACS, in an effort to preserve and highlight the history of the department. Working with UAB archives, long-time faculty, division directors and professional documents, the communications team was able to piece together important dates to include on the timeline.


Special thanks to:

  • Adam Beck, M.D.
  • Mike Chen, M.D., MBA
  • Herbert Chen, M.D., FACS
  • James Davies, M.D.
  • Darby Davenport (intern support)
  • Jorge de la Torre, M.D., MSHA
  • Martin Heslin, M.D.
  • Gregory Kennedy, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Jeffrey Kerby, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Helen Krontiras, M.D.
  • Jayme Locke, M.D., MPH
  • Amber Lucky (intern support)
  • Marshall Urist, M.D.

If you have a submission or a correction for the Department of Surgery timeline, please email surgcomm@uabmc.edu.