Dr. Danielle SutzkoThe Department of Surgery is pleased to announce Assistant Professor and Associate Program Director of the Vascular Surgery Integrated Residency Danielle Sutzko, M.D., M.S., as the inaugural recipient for the John Kirklin Award.

The John Kirklin award, established in 2021, is an annual honor that recognizes faculty members who exemplify the culture of UAB Surgery through enthusiastic engagement in academic surgery.

“Dr. Sutzko displays ongoing passion for education through research and mentoring. She has been integral in leading many projects within the department. We are proud to formally honor her through this distinguished award.” said Herb Chen, M.D., FACS, chair of the Department of Surgery.

John W. Kirklin, M.D., former chairman of the UAB Department of Surgery, was an American cardiothoracic surgeon, general surgeon, prolific author and medical educator. He is remembered for building one of the most respected and successful cardiovascular surgery programs in the nation at UAB.