Faculty associationSeveral UAB Department of Surgery faculty members will serve in leadership positions in the new UAB Heersink School of Medicine Asian American and Pacific Islander Faculty Association.

According to the UAB Heersink SOM, the faculty association play a critical role in the support of our diverse faculty. From recruitment and mentoring to development and advocacy, these groups help create, maintain, and foster the culture we strive for at UAB.

UAB Heersink SOM notes that the association consists of six committees that hold regular meetings to discuss communications and dissemination, social and networking, advocacy and community engagement, leadership training, pipeline programs, and membership. Each committee is made up of chairs/co-chairs and members and has distinct goals for how it will contribute to the mission and vision of the group.

As co-leader of the association, Herbert Chen, M.D., FACS, Fay Fletcher Kerner Endowed Chair, will lead alongside Warner Huh, M.D., FACOG, FACS. Additionally, the following surgery faculty will serve in committee capacities.

If you would like to learn more about the association or attend one of their meetings, click here.