Explore UAB

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

19 1080x1080 SquarePosts.indd Untitled Page 1The UAB Division of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery has matched four new fellows into the Trauma and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship for 2023: Preston Hewgley, M.D., Cassandra Krause, M.D., John Kuk, M.D., and Michelle Mangold, D.O.

Meet the 2023 fellows:


  • Preston Hewgley, M.D.
    Preston Hewgley, M.D.

    Residency: University of Texas Southwestern

    Medical School: University of Tennessee Health Science Center

  • Cassandra Krause, M.D.
    Cassandra Krause, M.D.

    Residency: Loma Linda University

    Medical School: Loma Linda University

  • John Kuk, M.D.
    John Kuk, M.D.

    Residency: Baylor Scott & White - Temple

    Medical School: University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix

  • Michelle Mangold, D.O.
    Michelle Mangold, D.O.

    Residency: Saint Louis University

    Medical School: Touro University Nevada