Explore UAB

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

2024 2025 Fellows horizontalThe UAB Division of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery has matched four new fellows into the Trauma and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship for 2024: Tyler Johnson, D.O., Taylor Norton, M.D., Alexis Scheuermann, M.D., and Sarah Weiner, M.D.

Meet the 2024 fellows who will start at UAB next August:


  • Tyler Johnson, D.O.
    Tyler Johnson, D.O.

    Residency: Spartanburg Regional Medical Center General Surgery Residency

    Medical School: Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences

  • Taylor Norton, M.D.
    Taylor Norton, M.D.

    Residency: University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix Program

    Medical School: University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center College of Medicine

  • Alexis Scheuermann, M.D.
    Alexis Scheuermann, M.D.

    Residency: Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center

    Medical School: Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center

  • Sarah Weiner, M.D.
    Sarah Weiner, M.D.

    Residency: University of North Carolina Residency Program

    Medical School: University of South Carolina School of Medicine - Greenville