McClintock named new director of the UAB Office of the IRB

Research Administration News McClintock named new director of the UAB Office of the IRB

McClintock named new director of the UAB Office of the IRB

Adam McClintock has been named director of the UAB Office of the Institutional Review Board for Human Use (IRB) following a national search.

McClintock currently serves as the human research protections manager for OhioHealth Research & Innovation Institute, and previously served as the operations manager in the Office of Responsible Research Practices at The Ohio State University.  Mr. McClintock will start his new position on January 28, 2019.

“I am honored to join the leadership team within the UAB Office of the Vice President for Research, in such a vibrant environment for human subjects research,” McClintock said. “I am eager to begin working with the talented and dedicated individuals who make up the Office of the IRB.”

McClintock is a graduate of The Ohio State University, where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in psychology, and a Master of Business Administration with a focus on business analytics and lean leadership.  He holds the Certified IRB Professional certification and has 13 years of experience in human research protections.

“The protection of the participants of our research is of paramount importance to UAB,” said Vice President for Research Chris Brown, Ph.D.  “We are fortunate to have attracted Mr. McClintock to join us and lead our Office of the IRB.”

Members of the search committee included Michael Bertram, Ph.D., MBA, associate director for administration of the Comprehensive Cancer Center, Leslie Cooper, CIP, associate director of the Office of the IRB, Jennifer A Croker, PhD, director of administration and fiscal affairs of the Center for Clinical and Translational Science, Ryan Irvin, Ph.D., M.S., associate professor in the Department of Epidemiology and faculty senate representative, Cynthia Joiner, PhD, MPH, RN, assistant vice chair for research and assistant professor in the Department of Medicine, Jonathan Miller, MPPA, CIP, assistant vice president for research regulatory oversight, and David Schwebel, PhD, associate dean for research in the College of Arts and Sciences and professor in the Department of Psychology.

Additional News and Announcements

View RSS feed