Cathleen Erwin, Ph.D., alumna of our PhD in Administration-Health Services program, and Christy Harris Lemak, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Health Services Administration, are named winners of awards from the Health Care Management Division of the Academy of Management.

cathleen erwinPhoto Courtesy: Auburn UniversityErwin takes home the 2020 Excellence in Teaching Award and Lemak wins the Myron D. Fottler Exceptional Service Award.

Cathleen Erwin, Ph.D. – Excellence in Teaching

Erwin, an associate professor in the Department of Political Science at Auburn University, wins the award that “recognizes innovative and outstanding teaching that takes place in our classrooms and provides the opportunity to encourage, recognize and reward the work of excellent, dedicated and inspiring teachers.”

This is the third time in the past six years that Erwin has been honored with a teaching award. Erwin was honored with the Teaching Excellence Award from the Auburn University College of Liberal Arts in 2014 and the AU Mortar Board Excellence in Teaching Award in 2017.

Past winners from UAB include Robert Weech-Maldonado, Ph.D., (2012), Peter M. Ginter, Ph.D. (2009) and S. Robert Hernandez, DrPH, (2005) the first Excellence in Teaching Award winner.

Christy Harris Lemak, Ph.D. – Myron D. Fottler Exceptional Service

christy lemakThis award is regarded as the HCM Division’s most distinguished award because it is not given every year – it is only awarded when the Division identifies someone deserving of the honor.

She earned the award for serving “as a meaningful mentor, not only to colleagues and students” at UAB, but also for her impact on others across the Division. Other requirements include a consistently strong presence in HCM for an extended period of time, including continued active participation after serving as a Division officer.

Lemak, who also won the Excellence in Teaching Award in 2011 while at the University of Michigan, served as Division Chair in 2006 – 2007 and as the elected national officer in 2008 – 2009. She joins Robert Weech-Maldonado, Ph.D., (2016) and Stephen J. O’Connor, Ph.D. (2013) as the third from UAB to achieve this honor.

The award is named for Fottler, the first recipient of the award who also served as program director of the UAB Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Administration-Health Services program from 1983 until 1999.