Explore UAB

Students/Faculty News Kevin Storr December 08, 2022

Ana Oliveira, DrPH, assistant professor in the Department of Clinical and Diagnostic Sciences, has been honored with the Provost's Award for Faculty Excellence.

Each year, faculty who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to engaging undergraduate students in service learning, undergraduate research and education-abroad experiences are honored. Oliveira, earned the honor for her work in Service Learning.

Announcement from the Provost Office:

Oliveira has implemented service learning in graduate courses and professional school programs. Students participate in projects related to underserved populations, sustainability and teaching molecular diagnosis to high school students. Many graduate students in Oliveira’s courses have been assigned to serve as judges at the UAB Expo.

“Ana is passionate about service learning,” a nominator wrote. “As a graduate of UAB Faculty Fellows program, she has volunteered as a mentor to two fellows in the same program. In addition to her teaching and scholarship reflecting her passion for service learning, Ana’s commitment is also reflected in her service activities. She has volunteered at the UAB Expo many years where she judges student service-learning posters.”

The winners from the other areas were Sami Raut, Ph.D., associate professor in the College of Arts and Sciences Department of Biology (Undergraduate Research); Lisa McCormick, DrPH, associate dean in the School of Public Health Department of Environmental Health Sciences; and Meena Nabavi, program manager in the School of Public Health (Education Abroad).

More News

  • Chapleau becomes first person from the SHP to win the UAB Outstanding Advisor Award for an Advising Administrator

    Read more
  • Lia Puzzo Earns DEP Outstanding Graduate Award

    Read more