Leadership & Service Council

The UAB Leadership and Service Council (LSC) exists to develop socially responsible leaders that are effective agents of social change. We seek to accomplish this mission through the provision of civic engagement and leadership development opportunities for UAB students.

Our vision is to inspire and support student growth by providing engaging service opportunities that will inspire new growth within communities.


Leadership & Service Council Committees

  • Executive Director

    The Executive Director provides guidance and support for all council programming, and serves as an ex-officio member of each committee. In order to apply for the role of Executive Director, a student must have served on the council in another capacity for at least one year.

  • Social Change

    The Social Change Committee is responsible for coordinating Breast Cancer Awareness Week in October and Hunger and Homelessness Week in November, in addition to other events that promote positive social change.

  • Signature Service

    The Signature Service committee is responsible for coordinating the Into the Streets Day of Service once per semester and the MLK Day of Service in the spring semester.

  • Civic Engagement

    The Civic Engagement Committee is responsible for creating programs that enhance the ties between our university and the community. They are responsible for coordinating the Birmingham 101 series and the planning of the University's Alternative Spring Break trip(s).

  • The Leadership Development Committee enhances student development by providing opportunities to explore values-based leadership, focusing on individual, group, and societal values.

2018-2019 Leadership and Service Council Members

Auriel Thompson

Executive Director

Taylor Graves

Lauren Pines

Kaytlin Peterson

Christian Fields

Mary Jimenez

Jaimee Staggers

Jeralyn Langford

Skyla Hall

Quinton Brooks

Naanlop Kromtit

Richard Nguyen

Kaytlin Peterson

Amethyst Stewart

Kelsie Bogan

Maronda Todd

I’Mon Washington

Taylor Burns

Tooni Oyewusi

Ashish Thallapureddy

Sarah Holifield

Daniel Moore

Nydia Saffold

Zainab Ahmad

Applications for LSC will be posted on Engage in the beginning of the Spring semester. All individuals who complete the application will be invited in for an interview. Decisions will be made and the new council will be announced around mid March.