Expo Winners Spring 2018

{vjtab title="Poster Presentation Winners"}

Spring Expo 2018 Program CoverSpring Expo 2018 Program (PDF)

Arts and Humanities

First Place: Amanda Hudson, Stephanie Lin, Ireen Lin

Biological and Life Sciences

First Place: Akshar H. Patel, Stephen J. Carter, Laura Q. Rogers, Lyse A. Norian, Gary R. Hunter

Second Place: Haley Ariel Edwards, Stephanie N Fox, Laura J McMeekin, Anastasia Kralli, Rita M Cowell

Third Place: Isabella Mak, Andrew D. Frugé, Yuko Tsuruta, Mallory Cases, Casey Morrow, Wendy Demark-Wahnefried

Business, Financial, and International Studies

First Place: Mindy Wyatt

Second Place: Mathew Banker

Third Place: Rachel Green


First Place (tie):

Second Place: David Bullock

Third Place (tie):

  • Cameon Knight
  • Maci Swindle


First Place: Katrina Hatch, Dania Mallah, Dave Monaco, Sydney Watkins, Connor Armstrong, and Sarah Schwerdt

Second Place: Jack Kim, Matthew Strachan, and Alexander Williams

Third Place (tie):

  • Shambi Anshumali, Jayci Hamrick, Rachana Kotapalli, Archit Patel, Baley West
  • Jessica Pieczynski, Seth Patterson, Tess Vessels, and Gerardo Hernandez-Moreno Abbey Leibold, Vaishali Nijampatnam, Pooja Wagle, Jonah Sharkins, Seul Hee Kim, Allie Bothma

Health Sciences

First Place: HyunSoo Moon, Jessica Scoffield, Hui Wu

Second Place: Jaelynn Lawrence, Shannon G Rice, Fred E Bertrand

Third Place: Katelyn Leake, Kadie Morris, Dr. Connie White Williams

Physical and Applied Sciences

First Place (tie):

Second Place: Garrett Wayne Higginbotham

Third Place: Gunnar Eastep, Lauren Silverwood, Justin Catt, and Margaret Johnson, Ph.D.

Service Learning

First Place: Cerissa Nowell, Shreya Malhotra, Kendall Curtis, Zena Banker, Aakansha Gosain, Ashish Kaushik, and Katie Cook

Second Place: Ivy Bookout, David Gahan, Kyle Landers, Shreya Malhotra, Skye Opsteen, Garrett Sager, and Minye Seok

Third Place: Indika DePriest

Social and Behavioral Sciences

First Place: Shannon Lukens and Alan Philip George

Second Place: Josiah J. Robinson; Benjamin McManus; Haley Johnson Bishop; Despina Stavrinos, Ph.D.

Third Place (tie):

  • JaVarus Humphries
  • Karan Patel, Benjamin McManus, Karen Heaton, PhD, Haley J. Bishop, PhD, Despina Stavrinos, Ph.D.


FIrst Place: Carolyn Barnes, Darrius Robinson, Heather Howard, Robert Reeder, LaTanatha Maddox

Works in Progress

First Place: Kristine Farag, Wendy Jiang, Aneesh Pathak, Karen Wang

Second Place: Bijal Vashi

Third Place (tie):

  • Cameron J. Gordon, Michael Azar, Louis P. Watanabe, Nicole C. Riddle
  • Anna-Katherine Escoto, Sari Terrazas, Paul Wolkowicz, Geeta Datta, C Roger White


      {vjtab title="Oral Presentation Winners"}

First Place: Kylie Woodman

Second Place: Riley Yager

Third Place (tie):


2018 Spring Expo 102
2018 Spring Expo 111
2018 Spring Expo 119
2018 Spring Expo 127
2018 Spring Expo 164
2018 Spring Expo 22
2018 Spring Expo 26
2018 Spring Expo 32
2018 Spring Expo 34
2018 Spring Expo 40
2018 Spring Expo 58
2018 Spring Expo 73
2018 Spring Expo 79

See these and more images on Flickr

11th annual spring expo.

Spring Expo

The Spring Expo includes both undergraduate research and service learning presentations. The Expo celebrates excellence in research, service learning, creative activity, and scholarship by showcasing the endeavors of undergraduate students.

For service learning, the Expo is an exposition of student and community engagement collaborations from students engaged in service-learning courses. The Expo gives service learning students the opportunity to gain presentation experience and to celebrate the projects and collaborations between community partners, UAB, and our greater community.

The Spring Expo will be held on April 12-13. Abstract submissions for the Spring Expo are now open — due April 4, 2018.



Thursday, April 12 — Oral Presentations and Video Research Award Presentations — Hill Student Center

Time Event Location
12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Student Registration and Judge Registration Outside 3rd Floor Ballrooms
1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. Oral Presentations Rooms 312-318
3:00 p.m.- 4:00 p.m. Video Research Awards Presentations Alumni Theater


Friday, April 13 — Bartow Arena — Poster Presentations

Time Event Location
8:15 a.m. - 8:45 a.m. Student Registration and Poster Set-up
Judge Registration
Bartow Arena Concourse
Bartow Green and Gold Room
9:00 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. Keynote Speaker and Faculty Awards Bartow Arena Main Floor
10:15 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Poster Presentations Bartow Arena Concourse
4:00 p.m. Award Winners announcements Email and social media

Keynote Speaker

""Dr. Tino Unlap received his Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry from Western Kentucky University, his Ph.D. in Biochemistry/Molecular Biology from Kansas State University, and postdoctoral trainings in Oncology and Behavioral Neurobiology at UAB. Dr. Unlap has mentored over 300 fellows, postdocs, graduate, undergraduate, and high school students over the past 20 years. The students represent programs including Science and Technology Honors, Experiential Learning Scholars, Early Medical School Acceptance, Biology Honors, Chemistry Honors, Summer In Biomedical Sciences, NIH/Drew University Summer Research, Louis-Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation, Project SEED, MHRC Summer Enrichment, SHP Honors and the UAB Community Outreach Development (CORD) Summer Research Programs.

Dr. Unlap believes that the student's learning is elevated to the highest level through research. To this end, he has been involved with the development and delivery of research based courses for undergraduate students (STH201, BMD300, BMD400), graduate students (BHS502, BT650, BT651, BT652), and community-based programs such as the Heritage Center Biotech Curriculum for high school students and BioTek Works, a workforce development program funded by Jefferson County and the State. In addition, Dr. Unlap works with faculty members through the Center for Teaching and Learning on how they can better engage their students by delivering problem-based lectures in a team environment.

Dr. Unlap currently serves as Professor and Director of the Biotechnology Program in the School of Health Professions and Director of Teaching Innovation at the Center for Teaching and Learning. He is a past recipient of the School of Health Professions Teaching Excellence Award, the Graduate Dean Mentorship Award, and the UAB President's Award for Excellence in Teaching. He mentors from 10-20 students a year in research areas including Cancer and Parkinson's disease drug discovery, the genetic basis of salt sensitive hypertension, the genetic basis of Polycystic Kidney disease, and Latent TB detection and eradication.

Previous Spring Expos