Consumer Advisory Committee

The Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act of 2000 (The DD Act) authorizes funding for grants to entities designated as University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities (UCEDDs).  The DD Act requires UCEDDs to establish a Consumer Advisory Committee (CAC) to assist them in guiding their direction and planning.  The DD Act specifies who should be on the CAC:  (a) a majority of individuals with developmental disabilities and family members, (b) representation from particular organizations, and (c) representation that reflects the racial and ethnic diversity of the state.  The DD Act also specifies the purpose of the CAC, which focuses on the individual UCEDD's 5-year-plan.

The mission of the Alabama UCEDD's Consumer Advisory Committee is to advise, assist and build capacity of the UCEDD to enhance the quality of life of persons with developmental disabilities and their families through issues related to the UCEDD's core functions of Training, Community Services and Technical Assistance, Research, and Information Dissemination.

Current CAC Members:

Graham Sisson, Chairman                                 Governors Office on Disability, Self-Advocate
Earnestine Adams JCCEO
Judy Barclay Full Life Ahead Foundation, Family Member
Michael Collins Self-Advocate
Jeremie Goike Self-Advocate
Carolyn Greene VSA, Family Member
Lee Johnston Speech/Language Pathologist, Family Member
Myra Jones Alabama Council on Developmental Disabilities
John Millhouse Self-Advocate
Robyn Mitchell Family Member
Vonda Reeves Childrens Rehabilitation Services, Family Member
Judy Roy Disability Rights and Resoures
Denise Smith Disability Services-UA, Family Member
Allison Solomon Disability Services-UAB
Vivian Spears Childrens Rehabilitation Services, Family Member
Brooke Stephens Triumph Services
Todd Tomerlin UCP, Family Member
James Tucker Alabama Disabilities Advocacy Program
Cindy Sweeney Consumer Coordinator, Civitan-Sparks Clinics
Fred Biasini Director, Civitan-Sparks Clinics